Sunday, July 10, 2016

South Dakota 2016 Fall Turkey Hunting Season Finalized

PIERRE, S.D - The South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks (GFP) Commission adopted their proposal to dissolve the West River prairie unit, switch to hunting units with license allocations and offer 105 fewer one-tag licenses for all prairie units combined. 

Dissolving the West River unit aligns the fall units with spring unit boundaries. For the 2016 fall season, prairie units in western South Dakota will include Unit 30A (Gregory County); Unit 50A (Mellette County) and Unit 53A (Perkins County and the portion of Meade County north of US Hwy. 212).

The season will run from Nov. 1, 2016 - Jan. 31, 2017, and offer 400 resident and 32 nonresident Black Hills any turkey  licenses and for the remainder of open units across the state 1,230 single tag any turkey and 50 two-tag licenses for residents along with 28 single tag any turkey licenses for nonresidents.

The current northeast (NE1) unit name has been changed to 48A and will include portions of Marshall County south and east of SD Highway 25 and north of SD Highway 10 as well as Roberts County north of SD Highway 10. In addition, the Davison and Hanson county unit has been modified to include only a smaller geographic area around the city of Mitchell.